Wednesday, April 13, 2011

What would I be?

One night. 
I can’t sleep well.
I just kept on thinking “WHAT WOULD I BE YEARS FROM NOW?”
Thoughts keep running through my head. 
Whether I’ll lead my success to become a much more better marketer or maybe my career is on advertising. 
We’ll never know what my future will be.
After a year. 
I’ll be also wearing my graduation suit.
Receive my diploma. 
Hear my parents that they are so proud of me.
At last! Years of schooling. 
It’s time for me to be on the real world called “LIFE”.
This is what mostly of the parents are waiting for.
To post their daughters/sons diplomas on their living rooms.
Or when somebody will ask them. 
“How’s your son/daughter?”
Then, they’ll just answer it with a big smile on their faces.
“She/he has graduated college.”
But, now let me just congratulate those who graduated.
Especially to the seniors in my school.
Who taught us to be leaders on our own ways.
To live life. Accept challenges. 
And especially despite the trials we’ve encountered.
Learn to SMILE. 
Next year it would be our turn. 
CONGRATULATIONS BATCH 2011!! =)

Monday, April 11, 2011

-- Chapter 4

We just went to the mall. And looked for list of available movies.


I'd seen a poster and it entitled "500 days of summer".


"So what do you want to watch? he said.


"Hmm.. maybe we could watch 500 days of summer?" 


"A friend told me that it was a good movie. Alright, as you wish Madam!" He went to the ticket booth. Then I told him that I would get ourselves a pop corn and cans of coke.


Afterwards, we went inside. 


"Good thing the movie is isn't starting." I said. I gave him his pop corn and the can of coke.


"Thanks" he said with a smile.


The movie was about to start.
So both our attentions is on the movie.


The story goes like this.
The guy which is Tom Hansen reflects back on the just over one year that he knew the girl which Summer Finn. Despite being physically average in almost every respect, Summer had always attracted the attention of men, Tom included. For Tom, it was love at first sight when she walked into the greeting card company where he worked, she the new administrative assistant. Soon, Tom knew that Summer was the woman with whom he wanted to spend the rest of his life. Although Summer did not believe in relationships or boyfriends - in her assertion, real life will always ultimately get in the way - Tom and Summer became more than just friends. Through the trials and tribulations of Tom and Summer's so-called relationship. 


The movie maked me bitter. I hate the ending of the story.  


"That was not a good movie!" I shrugged.


After the movie we went to a Chinese restaurant.


"Summer is not a good influence to everyone!" It felt like the movie has a big impact to me.


"I guess she has a good reason. Like it would be better if she would just leave." he said.


"No she has no good reasons to leave. Maybe.." 


He laughed at me.


"Yes, Maybe.. Its better if we could take our orders now."


I just nodded.


"What if I'll tell you that the guy in the movie. We have in-common." 


"ahhh yes! I agree! Both of you are geeks!" 


He just stared at me. No reactions at all. I think I offended him.


"Oh, sorry.." I was looking down feeling ashamed on what I've said.


suddenly he laughed.
Then I looked at him with curiousity. 


"look at your face. Looks like your going to cry. So whos the chick-chick-chicken now?" 


"That was not funny!" I growled.


"I just wanted to know what would be your reaction." he teased.


I shush. 


"I'm sorry Margarette. I didn't mean to.." 


I was not saying any word. 


He sighed sadly.


"GOTCHA!!" I laughed so hard.


"argggh! You!!" He was also laughing. 


"Huh! Thought you could have a prank on me? In your dreams chiiicken!" 


So after a few moments of laughter. 
We just ate our food and talked more about the movie we've watched.


"The food was goooood!" 


So we went to Starbucks to get some coffee. "My treat" I said. 


He ordered cappuccino and for me my favorite Vanilla Frappe.


"Margarette.." 


"What?" I asked.


"I really wanted life to make most out of it.. But, I can't seem how?"
he said while stirring at his coffee.


"So I wanted you to be part of it.." 


Is this actually true? Or I was just dreaming?  


"oh, uhmm.." I don't know what to say. I was in a moment of shocked.


"Lets have a deal. In 30 days I'll show you everything you don't even know about me and same with you. I wanted to know the real Margarette. If you would give me a chance. I'll prove it to you that I changed from the nerdy chicken you knew.." he is unpredictable, I can't read what was going through his mind.


"Well, I just don't know what your up to." I said.


"In time, you'll know."


"Think about it." I could see that he is really eager.


I'm really confused, coz' eventually I'm starting to fall for him. But, is it too fast? I mean, what's with the 30 days? And what will my mom say? 
--HELP SOMEONE? 

Mom and dad's HAPPINESS.

It was a hard and devastating week for me. 
Seeing your parents at their weakest moment.
Makes my heart melt.
If only I could always wear my protective shell of numbness.
I would. But, I can't..
It sucks. When you wanted to help them, but the only thing that you could do is to cheer them up.


The last time, Mom just hugged me tightly. So tight that I can't breath.
"Mag papalakas ako para sa'yo at kay daddy mo." I just don't know how to react from it. I knew my mom was crying the whole time she was hugging me. Actually, it was a very ackward moment for me. I don't want to show my mom that I'm weak. Dad said, not to be one. So I'd swear to myself not to show any weakness. But, it was hard to act that your "Okay", I wanted to burst out in tears. 


The same with my dad. He's much tougher than my mom. Of course, he should be. The last few lines I remembered when the 3 of us talked, "We love you." Short but a very sincere and meaningful line. I like my dad for his positivity. I guess, his marketing career helped him to be one. 


It was the hardest moment of our lives right now. 
But, I know one day. It will end up very soon. 
Hoping for the best not just for my self.
But, for the sake of my mom and dad's "HAPPINESS".

Saturday, March 5, 2011

Starbucks 101





Starbucks is one of the famous coffee shops all over the world. The ambiance is very relaxing especially the coffee they serve is very good. One of my favorite drink is their Frappucino. Especially the Vanilla one. Once you taste it, for sure you want more of it. Because, I'm a coffee lover, I became interested in being a "barista", the one who mixes and do the coffee. So I decided, why don't I try my luck on being a barista of Starbucks?
Besides, this is a good way to earn money. So I applied with two of my friends, eventually I convinced them to apply also. So we passed our C.V on Starbucks at Fairview then we waited for about 3 weeks (Estimated days), before we received a text message saying "Tomorrow you have an interview at our main office at Rusrans at Makati. Don't forget to bring a Valid I.D and your resume. Blah..Blah."  So the following day, we went there.

So the first thing we do:

  • Fill up the application form and the "Essay"
The essay was quite easy. Some of my answers are very sarcastic. Haha! Anyway, the essay questions is consist of four questions.
"Why did you apply at Starbucks?" 
"What are the 3 things you expect at Starbucks?"
"How do you understand customer service?"
And lastly "What do you do during your free time?"

  • Group Interview
The interviewer will asked you basic questions, the questions will be based also on the essay you answered. So you must remember your answers. The first question of the interviewer would be "Tell me about yourself"
just like the first day in school, you should describe yourself clearly like where do you came from, what school are you, your parents are they employed or not, stuffs like that.

Once you started the conversation the questions will just go with the flow. So be ready with your answers.
Then after the bloody hell questions. The interviewer will be giving a letter indicating if you pass the initiation or not. But sadly on my cased, I did not passed the interview. I guess because of the way I answer the questions or maybe because of my age. But, at least I tried my best. I guess it is not really meant for me this time. 

But, I still love STARBUCKS. =)